Changing my body and changing my life

When I woke up and looked through the narrow gaps in the blinds it looked bright, and I thought, Yay, I’ll be able to do my long run outside.

HA! Silly me. This is Manitoba. Of course we would have snow in May.

So it was the treadmill today, and this was my long run, 9.5 – 11 km on the schedule. I managed to run about 40 minutes of the first hour, but after than I was beat and could only manage to run 2 to 5 minutes at a time and needed to walk a lot. That and my right foot is hurting along the bottom. Muscle? tendon? I’m not sure but I wonder if I pushed it too hard. I was planning for 10 km today, but I was watching a movie and to finish it off ended up walking it out to 11 km.

My favourite dish of today was a simple salad. I mixed lettuce,  diced green and orange bell pepper, tomato and green onion. In a skillet I sauteed some onion with a spray of oil then warmed 1/2 a cup black beans with the onion and some cumin, coriander and garlic powder. That all went in the salad, topped off with lime juice and a sprinkle of cheddar. I had used up my fats so I didn’t even add sour cream, like I usually would, and found I didn’t miss it. that is my helpful tool – discovering I can like things in different ways – like coffee without cream is okay, and salad without a fat of some sort is okay too.

This week I will have to move my runs to the morning to get them in – we simply have too many kids activities going in the evenings. Usually we just have music lessons, but I wanted all the kids in something active for at least a few weeks this spring. What I am finding challenging is the idea that I’ll probably have to get up before 6:00 to be able to get in the running I want to do to be ready for the half marathon. Which means I need to go to bed earlier, too, and I find getting everything done in the evenings to be a challenge.

Comments on: "Back in the basement again" (1)

  1. Cindy Braun said:

    We got that dump of snow last weekend. Good news is it’s mostly gone…

    Coffee without cream (or skim milk in my case) is just wrong… But then, maybe you’ll drink less of it – which is healthy, right?

    Be careful not to burn the candle at both ends. I’m up at 4:45 Monday to Friday. And I don’t usually get to go to sleep until 10:00 so I can make sure Matt’s gone to bed. I still can’t make myself work out in the mornings, and I’m so bagged by the time I get home that I don’t really put in the quality time my kids need, and my house suffers, too.

    You, however, are better at keeping it all running (pun intended) than I am. I know you’ll find a way to make it all work. Hug the kiddies for me!

    =)

Leave a Reply

