Changing my body and changing my life

Meals today were fairly straightforward: more of the oatmeal from two days ago, with fruit and yogurt; lunch was freezer leftovers of a tofu vegetable noodle dish, and supper was a basic roast chicken dinner, but no stuffing. I had my treat of the day, more broken glass cake, after lunch, and thought I’d leave it. Then eldest got a piece for herself in the evening and of course left it out on the island. So what do I find myself doing? having a 2nd helping, of course. I reflected on my blogging about it being no big deal to say no to bacon, always. Yet if I say yes to something, I want to keep saying yes. This is something I’ll need to tackle to enable me to maintain in the long-term.

I went shopping for hopefully my last pairs of in-between pants. Who knows, maybe these will still fit when I’m at my goal weight, because I bought them a bit snug. I was very surprised to realize all the 9/10s were too big in the waist and went down to 7/8. Generally, they are way too tight in the hips, but I found a couple of pairs that work, assuming they will stretch out a bit with wear. Can’t find a gray pair to save my life, though 😡

Can I rant about clothing manufacturers for awhile? Of course I can, this is MY blog. As I go into stores and clerks ask me, “How is it going?” when I’m trying on clothes, and I say “These pants are too big in the waist” or “These pants are too tight in the hips” or “These pants are too big in the waist and too tight in the hips” clerks tell me that the 4 inch gap problem in the small of the back is a very common one for customers. So why aren’t the bloody clothing manufacturers actually seeing how different women are built, and designing clothes that fit different women? A basic pear-line and apple-line would be a great place to start. Lane Bryant used real computer imaging of real customer’s bodies to design their different lines of jeans, including a curvy fit that was perfect – when I was bigger. The lack of creative thinking by most manufacturers astounds me. They want to make money. Here’s the answer – make clothes that actually fit us!

Helpful tool – weighing myself every day. Research shows that this is something that helps most people to lose weight. I find that it’s just a daily task that reminds me, I’m on a journey, each day, every day, pay attention.

What remains challenging – moderation for treats.

Questions for readers

Anyone know of good fitting pants and jeans for curvy figures?

Anyone have any really good tofu recipes?

Leave a comment